Nothing special : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Published
New York, NY : Bloomsbury Publishing Inc., 2023.
ISBN
9781635574319, 1635574315
Physical Desc
230 pages ; 22 cm
Status

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Brookline - New BooksON ORDER2 On Order
Brookline Putterham - New BooksON ORDEROn Order
LocationCall NumberStatus
Arlington - AdultFIC FLATTERY, N.On Shelf
Bedford - AdultFiction/FlatteryOn Shelf
Belmont Beech St. - New BooksFIC FLAOn Shelf
Brookline - AdultFIC Flattery, NicoleOn Shelf
Brookline - AdultFIC Flattery, NicoleOn Shelf
Show All Copies

More Details

Published
New York, NY : Bloomsbury Publishing Inc., 2023.
Format
Book
Language
English
ISBN
9781635574319, 1635574315

Notes

Description
"New York City, 1966. Seventeen-year-old Mae lives in a rundown apartment with her alcoholic mother and her mother's sometimes-boyfriend, Mikey. She is turned off by the petty girls at her high school, and the sleazy men she typically meets. When she drops out, she is presented with a job offer that will remake her world entirely: she is hired as a typist for the artist Andy Warhol. Warhol is composing an unconventional novel by recording the conversations and experiences of his many famous and alluring friends. Tasked with transcribing these tapes alongside several other girls, Mae quickly befriends Shelley and the two of them embark on a surreal adventure at the fringes of the countercultural movement. Going to parties together, exploring their womanhood and sexuality, this should be the most enlivening experience of Mae's life. But as she grows increasingly obsessed with the tapes and numb to her own reality, Mae must grapple with the thin line between art and voyeurism and determine how she can remain her own person as the tide of the sixties sweeps over her. For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh and Mary Gaitskill, this blistering, mordantly funny debut novel brilliantly interrogates the nature of friendship and independence and the construction of art and identity. Nothing Special is a whip-smart coming-of-age story that brings to life the experience of young girls in this iconic and turbulent American moment."--,Provided by publisher.

Description

Loading Description...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

NoveList

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Flattery, N. (2023). Nothing special: a novel . Bloomsbury Publishing Inc..

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Flattery, Nicole. 2023. Nothing Special: A Novel. Bloomsbury Publishing Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Flattery, Nicole. Nothing Special: A Novel Bloomsbury Publishing Inc, 2023.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Flattery, Nicole. Nothing Special: A Novel Bloomsbury Publishing Inc., 2023.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.