We loved it all : a memory of life
(Book)

Book Cover
Published
New York : W.W. Norton & Company, Inc, [2024].
ISBN
9781324073659, 1324073659
Physical Desc
254 pages ; 24 cm
Status

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Brookline - New BooksON ORDEROn Order
Lincoln - New BooksON ORDEROn Order
Sudbury - sudON ORDEROn Order
LocationCall NumberStatus
Ashland - New Books814.54 MILChecked Out
Cambridge - New Books813.54 MilletOn Holdshelf
Cambridge - New Books813.54 MilletOn Holdshelf
Cambridge - New Books813.54 MilletOn Holdshelf
Cambridge - New Books813.54 MilletOn Holdshelf
Show All Copies

More Details

Published
New York : W.W. Norton & Company, Inc, [2024].
Format
Book
Street Date
2404
Language
English
ISBN
9781324073659, 1324073659

Notes

Description
"A personal evocation of the glory of nature, our vexed position in the animal kingdom, and the difficulty of adoring what we destroy. Acclaimed novelist Lydia Millet's first work of nonfiction, We Loved It All, is a genre-defying tour de force that makes an impassioned argument for people to see their emotional and spiritual lives as infinitely dependent on the lives of nonhuman beings. Drawing on a quarter-century of experience as an advocate for endangered species at the Center for Biological Diversity, Millet offers intimate portraits of what she calls "the others"-the extraordinary animals with whom we still share the world, along with those already lost. Humans, too, fill this book, as Millet touches on the lives of her world-traveling parents, fascinating partners and friends, and colorful relatives, from diplomats to nut farmers-all figures in the complex tapestry each of us weaves with the surrounding world. Written in the tradition of Annie Dillard or Robert Macfarlane, We Loved It All is an incantatory work that will appeal to anyone concerned about the future of life on earth-including our own"--,Provided by publisher.

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Description

Loading Description...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Millet, L. (2024). We loved it all: a memory of life . W.W. Norton & Company, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Millet, Lydia, 1968-. 2024. We Loved It All: A Memory of Life. W.W. Norton & Company, Inc.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Millet, Lydia, 1968-. We Loved It All: A Memory of Life W.W. Norton & Company, Inc, 2024.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Millet, Lydia. We Loved It All: A Memory of Life W.W. Norton & Company, Inc, 2024.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.